Janka Hardness Ratings

The Janka hardness test is the hardness level given to each species. Hardness is expressed in kilo newtons; the Janka rating is a measure of the wood to resist indentation. It is one of the best measures of the ability of a wood species to withstand denting and wear. The higher the Janka rating / number the greater the hardness.

The higher the Janka Rating, the harder the timber is.

Timber Speciessort descending Hardness JANKA Colour/Tone
Australian Chestnut 8.1 Mellow Straw brown to light browns, may have a hint of pink
Blackbutt 9.1 often straw to pale brown
Blue Gum 9.0 often mid to light red brown
Brush Box 9.5 often mid brown with pink tones
Cherry Mahogany 8.8 often medium to deep red
European Oak 6 Blondes, Light Brown to Dark Tan
Grey Box 15.0 often mid brown with paler tones
Grey Gum 14.0 often red brown with paler sapwood
Grey Ironbark 14.0 often mid to dark brown and red brown
Jarrah 9 Dark Red to Brown
Karri 9 Pale Pink to Reddish Brown
Mixed Hardwoods Species 9.5 to 14.0 A mixture of Spotted Gum, Brushbox, Ironbark and Blackbutt
Mixed Reds 9.5 A mixture of Red Mahogany, Flooded Gum, Blue Gum and River Red Gum
New England Blackbutt 9.5 often straw to pale brown
Northern Beech Species 8.0 to 10.0 often straw to straw brown
Pearl Mahogany 8.8 often pale brown with pinkish tones
Red Gum 12.0 often deep red with paler sapwood
Red Ironbark 14.0 often dark brown to red brown
Spotted Gum 11.0 often mid brown with light sapwood
Tallowwood 8.6 often light olive brown
Tasmanian Oak 7 Light in colour, varying from straw to reddish brown with intermediate shades of cream to pink.
Turpentine 12.0 often mid brown with pink tones
Wormy Chestnut 8.1 Pale Blondes to Greyish Brown may have a hint of Pink